Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent.

Parenting is really a critical and important task that every individual needs to learn. As every person going to be a parent one day. Hence, if parenting is taught during school days is required.

Student learn lot of things during their school days. Rather, it is their right time to learn most of the things. At this age they have the most different opinions to that of their parents in terms of what is good or bad for them? Where to go? What time to return home? etc. Hence, a knowledge is required to understand the parents and that can be best transferred by making them aware about parenting skills. However, they certainly need right way of teaching these skills. For example, with proper demonstration by mean of skit or play. Another good option is to have consultant in the school campus to discuss any personal issues. This will help student to open up on their issues with parents and consultant can rightly bridge the gap and make them understand their parents. This understanding will further develop parenting skills in the students.

To be a good parent, parent needs to be a friend of his/ her child. Children are very comfortable in friendly environment. At very young age, every day they learn new things and they really want to share those things when they are home. To be a good parent time given to children plays an important role. Parents should not be a boss of their children. Instead, if they convert their commands/ orders into requests work better with children. In their learning age they really do not want to do what is said. They want to do things if they really understand why to do? And for that all their curiosities are to be answered. Parents should support children when they are trying something new and different. They should encourage them for the activities they are interested in, appreciate their effort and not just success.

So to conclude, be real friend to your children, listen them and before you revert understand and what they are saying and why? This 'why' will help you understand them better and keep you closer to your children.