Some say old people should continue to work, if their condition allows them to do so. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our society, the old people have the right of retirement after they have worked for several years. When they get retired they can stop working and start taking a rest. But some people argue that if they still are in a good health situation, they should continue to work instead of get retired.

This can be considered a good point especially to prevent some mental problem like for example the Alzheimer's disease. Although many medical studies have proved that there is a genetics predisposition for this kind of incurable diseases, the effects of the Alzheimer's disease can be postpone with brain exercises. Therefore continuing to work will keep the body and the mind active with the purpose of preventing some of these disease.

Moreover, nowadays the job occupies most of the time of our day. For this reason, when someone stop to work, he doesn't know how to spend his free time. This can bring a state of depression or loneliness which can boost the aging of the people especially for who doesn't have the support of a family.

Additionally, a retired person becomes a cost for the community which will pay the pension for the rest of his life. But the reason of the pension is to maintain the people who are no more in the condition of take care of themselves.

Despite we can see the retirement as the goal of our working life, we have to be careful how it can impact on the community and on our daily life and eventually to consider the idea of continue to work until the condition allows us to do it.