1. Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that challenging hobbies alone can make people feel satisfactory and attract people to continue doing them. Although, people’s pastimes can bring excitement, a sense of fulfilment, as well as relaxation and escape. In my opinion, I disagree with the view that interesting hobbies have to be difficult because attraction depends on people’s different needs.

To begin with, some people think activities that challenge them make them excited, such as/like riding a rollercoaster. They can gain a sense of fulfilment when they master a difficult hobby because it is as similar to learning a new skill. A case would be people enjoy going scuba diving even though it might be fatal underwater if they are not careful enough. When an activity is already set-up for everyone to do without requiring hard-working or professional training, those who want to have unique experiences could end up feeling bored. Easy hobbies are not attractive for people to keep and people may give up after a very short period.

Conversely, some activities can be pleasurable for various reasons and do not have to be difficult at all. Firstly, more and more people are fostering hobbies for a relaxing purpose which they can refresh themselves with and escape from an increasingly stressful life. Also, some people have hobbies to maintain their health, and they would be happy if they could keep fit by undertaking their hobbies. For instance, Yoga is a very popular hobby for people of all ages due to the mental and physical pleasure it produces rather than its difficulty.

In conclusion, people gain happiness from different things, so to hobbies. All the activities can be enjoyable no matter if they are extremely challenging or don’t need to use your brain.