18.2.2022: New technologies have changed the way children spend their free tieme. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

With technological advances, these days, children spend much of their spare time using electronic devices. Although there can be no doubt that new technologies are harmful to kids to a certain extent, I assert that this trend will create more benefit than harm.

On the one hand, several reasons explain the negative influences of technological development on young children. Firstly, the most significant of which are technologies that make children get distracted easily during work or study. There are too many interesting programs, or games that keep youngsters engaged. As a result, they spend only their free time playing and watching and forget to do chores and homework which are normal situations. In addition, spending too much time on their computers or smartphones may lead to health problems for kids. This is because of the lack of outdoor activities and healthy exercises. For example, many young are suffering from short-sightedness, and even headache causes by electromagnetic waves.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why I still believe that

technology brings more benefits. The first reason is that children stimulate to be self-learning which makes use of their free time due to a large of information and also eye-catching images. For example, my brother spends hours finding out the topic he wants to learn such as the origins of astronomy. Moreover, smart devices let children easily communicate with people all over the world. Consequently, they tend to be more confident, expand their knowledge, and make more friends which are high requirements in the New Economy.

To sum up, besides the variety of drawbacks of using modern techniques, I still believe that the advantages of technology outweigh the advantages