(2) Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the last ten decades, the world sometimes considers computers as one of the major technical developments. From my perspective, I do completely agree with this point of view, for they help people connect with each other and offer some benefits to make life easier.

First of all, computers bring everyone together. For example, with the explosive growth of the Internet, now people can use their computer to read online articles about world affairs and keep themselves updated with the occurrence. In addition, people can contact one another on social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter, which is specially useful for families that spread over a wider geographical area: if parents want to talk with their children who study abroad, they just turn on their computer, log in to their Facebook account and start to chat with them. When we look back on many years ago, we had to buy newspaper to catch up with the news and write letters to exchange information with our relatives, which was costly and time-consuming.

Another point I want to make is that computers can be a valuable tool to aid everybody with their tasks. For one thing, it can store our data and documents. Long time ago, our ancestors had a lot of shelves in the house to keep written materials, pictures and books. But now, computers can store thousands of files and save space in our home. Moreover, a computer manufacturer like IBM has created a great number of supercomputers for NASA to calculate the complex formulas. Therefore, scientists are able to draw up sound plans for astronauts to fly into space with modern spacecraft.

In conclusion, computers have been an important invention in human history. It not only functions as a form of communication but also has some utilities to please the contemporary world.