20/01/2017: Nowadays, young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our time and age, the shopping over-indulgence in youngsters deems to be a common sight. Personally, I believe that this could impose several detrimental impacts on young consumers and the society they live in.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that shopping addiction at a juvenile age is the main culprit for practical issues. Firstly, young shopaholics are exposing themselves to the diversity of advertisement and products in shopping centers that drives their desire to excessive consumerism. Admittedly, financial troubles would be one of the feasibly negative consequences if unnecessary items are unconsciously purchased by spendthrifts. In addition, it is time-consuming that they spend the majority of their pastime on shopping, instead, participating in sensational outdoor activities. Secondly, the profligate lifestyle gives rise to numerous drawbacks in human society. From commodity manufacturing to packaging process, wasted materials and overproduced goods squandered could be the catalyst to the redundancy of landfills.

On the other hand, recreation and stress-free lifestyle are considered as the top priorities when individuals go shopping. This is the best way for those who are in the hectic schedule to let off steam after intensive working days. Noticeably, the autism rate would be in the deceleration if youngsters invariably reach community destinations as shopping malls. Furthermore, this tendency not only bolsters the acceleration in consumption and commerce but also facilitates government to tackle the higher rate of unemployment. For instance, more and more blue-collar workers are hired for working as a product bearer while the white-collar counterparts could be campaign-makers for marketing and sales.

In conclusion, young individuals should efficiently offset their time and personal budget on shopping rather than being over-immerse in the extravagant lifestyle.