Nowadays, people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons for and effects on family and the society they live in?

In our time and age, individuals have a tendency to give birth late. This essay would elucidate the precursors for this and feasible influences on their family and society.

It is undeniable that financial stability is human’s top-priority leading to childbirth postponement. Admittedly, meeting personal demand urges people to gain a decent job with lucrative income rather than having babies. Therefore, individualism gains the prevalence in social stereotypes instilled by youngsters. In addition, it is espoused that children would be nurtured better by the mid-thirties who are generally affluent, experienced and willing to be in parenthood. Furthermore, women empowerment has extirpated old sentiments about the sole responsibility for looking after offspring. Females have been advocated to achieve the intrinsic human rights for working, relaxation and recreation.

In accordance with this phenomenon, the impacts are relatively diversified. On the positive side, having firstborn babies at the late stage of marriage is a catalyst of the deceleration in population volume. Moreover, human would not be interrupted by pregnancy and childcare in the flourishing period of their career. Children also bear fruits from higher living standard and civilization when their parents maintain prosperity. In stark contrast, cynical outcomes could be illustrated from late pregnancy. Obviously, old parents invariably encounter with the higher rate of infertility or struggling with mental disorders in children. It is noteworthy that there are numerous health risks for women in the prenatal and postnatal period such as depression or digestion-related diseases. In terms of society, the low birth quantity could create the aging population and the scarcity of young labor workforce that adversely affects national economic development.

In conclusion, having firstborn babies at the old age might be induced by several elements and exert both merits and demerits in family life as well as human society.