Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

it is argued that people have a tendency to encounter several problems including social issues and practical ones when they have difficulty in speaking the mother tongue of a foreign country. While I agree with this perspective, I strongly believe that the space-age world has been creating great opportunities to overcome these problems.

On the one hand, the language barrier would be the main culprit of several controversial stereotypes between global residents. Firstly, although international students must be proficient in a foreign language to be allowed to study at the overseas university, they still have to pay much attention to the reading and listening skills as well as striving for swimmingly achieving the speaking fluency more than local students to comprehend the whole lessons. Secondly, working for a multinational corporation put laborers to have to communicate through an official language required by this company. that might give rise to misunderstandings in work processes. Thus, it is extremely likely to lead to a higher rate of unemployment, if workers do unexpected mistakes because of their limited language. Finally, strict conflicts are considered as the negative consequences in daily communications with native speakers using dialects or idioms that foreigners cannot understand or even misunderstand.

however, globalization has brought several opportunities to diminish misunderstandings caused by language disparity. Take google as the salient example, interpreting web named google Translate has been generated as an exceptional tool, which has a capability of tackling these problems. In addition, surfing the Internet has accounted for the major time of human; therefore, it is non-challenging to gain some detail information about the individuals’ destination before arriving there because of a strong bond between culture and language. Furthermore, if somebody has been living in a country for a long-term period of time, instilling into holistically the culture and language of this country are definitely possible.

In conclusion, international citizens have to cope with problems associated with the discrepancy in language. however, with the development of society, I believe that they can tackle these obstacles without difficulty.