2020 has witnessed the outbreak of rare and new disease has been preying on

the minds of thousands of people in the world. Some people complain that this

illness has taken the lives of many people, slow down development in many

different fields; others claim that disease is an opportunity, thus, the world is getting

better.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the effect of the pandemic caused by a coronavirus in 2020. While many argue that the spread of the coronavirus will destroy economic growth, I am more convinced that it will change our planet in a positive way.

It is true that the appearance of the new virus has left businesses around the world counting the cost. Firstly, as many countries and world capitals have been put under strict lockdown, major industrial production chains have been brought to a halt. For example, the findings suggest that if Tokyo were to be locked down for two weeks, the loss in value-added production in the city would be 4.3 million yen. Secondly, as business remained closed during the coronavirus pandemic, an unrelenting job crisis continues to push countries onto unemployment rolls. In the US, the number of people filing for unemployment hit a record high, signaling an end to a decade of expansion for one of the world’s largest economies. Finally, many advanced economies are expected to enter a recession this year. The International Monetary Fund says that the global economy will shrink by 3% and describes the decline as the worst since The Great Depression of the 1930s.

In spite of the above arguments, I side with those who advocate the view that the event presents an opportunity: more flexible use of technology and revive appreciation for the outdoors. The first reason is regulatory barriers to online tools will fall. Many areas of our lives uptake on genuinely useful online technology have been slowed by powerful legacy players. However, because of the novel virus that keeps us contained in our homes, many families find that they prefer full or partial homeschooling or online homework. And many people also admitted that working from home is also effective as being in the office, which is thanks to the ability of wired applications. Another benefit worth mentioning is the improvement of air quality around the world. The COVID-19 has caused industrial activity to shut down and canceled flights and other journeys, slashing greenhouse emissions and air pollution worldwide. If there is something positive to take from this terrible crisis, it could be that it’s offered a taste of the air we might breathe in a low carbon future. The recent improvements could be made permanent by replacing fossil fuel with renewable energy and low-carbon sources.