20. Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Other believe individuals can also do somethings to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People differ greatly in their views about the role of individuals in the job of addressing environmental problems. While some people believe

This task is beyond the capacity of individuals, I would contend that the

effort of each individual is indispensable.

It is argued that a person’s action is insignificant for large-scale environment-related issues. First and foremost, there are global-level environmental degradation problems such as global warming and climate change which a single person cannot combat. Not only does tackling these problems requires the very single country to reduce its greenhouse gases emission but it also needs the intergovernmental cooperation which must always play a central role in the resolution of such vast problems. Furthermore, environmental problems in different geographical regions are interconnected at the national and international level. A comprehensive solution with the joining efforts from people living in these areas, as a consequence, is much more significant than an individual’s resolution,

However, There are two compelling reasons as to why I am firmly convinced that one should not underestimate the importance of the efforts of individuals in preserving the environment. The primary reason is that individuals can be a catalyst for the legislation of environmental protection. A petition signed by 10,000 Vietnamese, for instance, has fostered the legislation process of a new law that makes cutting down trees lining city stress illegal. Moreover, if individuals purchase environmentally friendly products, such as electric vehicles or energy-efficient means of transport, this can be conducive to mitigating the air pollution level resulting from traffic fumes on the atmosphere.

To sum up, while it is believed that personal actions do not play a significant role in protecting the environment because a person cannot combat the environmental deterioration occurring in the whole world and various places, I argue that individuals’ efforts to preserve the environment when they prioritize environmental-friendly products and struggle to set up an environmental protection law