In the 20th century, contact between many different parts of the world has developed rapidly through air travel and telecommunications. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past century, the world has witnessed many revolutions, especially since it improvised relations between different countries through new inventions in the ways of transportation and communication. In this essay, I would like to shed some light on the pros and cons of these variations.

To begin with, the masses are enjoying the many benefits available through the use of new innovations in communications and world travel, in fact the entire globe has become a global village. In other words, travelers could travel to any part of the country and expand their knowledge of the culture, traditions, and customs of different places, yet they could stay in touch with their home place using mobile phones or other devices. For example, during hectic schedules, residents deserve at least a few days of peace away from stress so they can travel abroad and have fun. In addition, telecommunications made it possible to effectively communicate with the masses, migrants could communicate with their loved ones on a daily basis.

On the other hand, the development of various technologies has endangered the lives of people and other creatures. The initially alarming levels of pollution from aircraft and other modes of transport are now the fundamental cause of many problems. Moreover, it has caused global warming and an increase in the temperature of the Earth, which will lead to the melting of glaciers, as a result of which the world may be at risk of flooding in the coming years. Besides, the radiation and submerged wires used to connect the devices to the network disrupt the way birds communicate. For instance, the sudden decline in the number of migratory birds is simply due to the problems they face in making their way between the seas, so they die of starvation in the oceans.

In conclusion, it should be said that there is no doubt that development in various areas helped the inhabitants to improve their standard of living and allow them to enjoy life themselves, while the environment was degrading. In my opinion, it has more disadvantages, since the problems that have arisen in nature cannot be solved in a convenient way.