3. Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

There is growing concern about global warming throughout the planet, which is the most significant problem the world has to face in order to sustain human life on Earth. From my point of view, the major risk of this problem is the uncontrolled amount of greenhouse gases, and governments should cooperate with their residents in tackling this problem with practical solutions.

Undeniably, the alarming rate of carbon emissions contributes hugely to the increase in global heating. Regarding CO2, its main source is mostly generated in activities of power plants and other heavy industries, which is to satisfy the growth of human’s energy demands. When fossil fuels, such as gas, oil and coal are burned, they release an excessive amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, deteriorating the air quality and forming acid rain. Besides, not only those factories discharge heat-trapping uncontrollably but also each individual that living on the Earth through their daily routine. For instance, the ozone layer is being depleted heavily due to traffic congestion during rush hours in some metropolitans.

Fortunately, there are various of feasible solutions that both authorities and citizens should consider to address this issue efficiently. Firstly, the governments should ward off the impacts of climate change by imposing heavy fines as well as punishment on illegal disposal of toxic waste coming from enterprises. Simultaneously, to mitigate the amount of greenhouse gases, they also need to incentivize their residents to proactively shift towards using environmentally-friendly materials, such as installing a solar panel to generate energy or using public transport instead of personal vehicles. As global individuals, we ought to show cooperative attitudes to the governments towards environmental problems. For instance, a motorcyclist can switch to use biodiesel, which is derived from agricultural products and able to absorb carbon dioxide.

In conclusion, I believe that air pollution poses a potential threat to living creatures’ existence because it exerts a detrimental impact on global warming. If we wish to extend Earth’s longevity, a collaboration between governments and their inhabitants is needed to cope with this situation as soon as possible.