4. Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that some stores or even big shopping malls went break recently because of a variety of factors. In my opinion, the disappearing of physic shopping streets is tragic and will bring many negative consequences.

There are three main reasons why the high street shop is hard to survive in today’s market. Firstly, I reckon that the competition from online shop websites impacts the overturn from the sales in stores. People, especially the young generation are accustomed to compare, select and buy things on the websites, so they are reluctant to go the traditional brick-and-mortar stores. Secondly, increasing customers are interested in unique stuff which are normally not stocked in the high streets, but you can search online without geographic limitations. Finally, the ridiculously high rent for the physic stores cuts the shrinking profits which worsens the owners’ financial situation.

It seems to me that development is not a good thing for society and individuals. Thousands of people who were working as salesmen in stores would lose their jobs and the unemployment rate would surge to a high point. In this case, society may face serious social problems, such as a high crime rate, a huge financial burden for supporting jobless people and fewer taxes incomes. On the other hand, shopping malls can also provide people with a place to hang out with friends or to relax in a café. People can buy whatever they need online but they still need high streets in their city for other entertainment purposes.

In conclusion, there are different factors may cause stores going bankrupt and I think this can trigger many potential problems.