Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that the disappearance of high street shops has become popular recently. From my perspective, the development of online shopping is the main reason behind this situation, and I believe that it is a positive trend.

In my opinion, high street shops are disappearing due to competition from online shopping websites, which are cheaper and more convenient. Web-based stores allow customers to search for the best deals, make purchases from the comfort of their homes, and receive delivery of their purchased items the next day. Furthermore, it is impossible for traditional bricks-and-mortar stores to compete with the range of choice that can be found online. For example, I recently used the website Amazon to buy some fairly rare academic textbooks that were not stocked at my local bookshop. As a customer, the fact that I can find any product imaginable online makes it almost pointless for me to make a trip to my local high street.

This trend could be definitely beneficial to both customers and businesses. In terms of the buyers, in comparison to going shopping in the high street stores, shopping online provides customers more products, choices, and options. Also, customers can save time and travel costs. As regards the businesses, moving their business to online platforms could help them to save money for renting places to present their products. Also, promoting products online may help to approach a huge number of potential consumers. Consequently, more profits could be made.

In conclusion, I believe that online shopping results in the close of most physical stores. This trend is a positive development because both customers and businesses could gain benefits from it.