In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People often argue about the investment of money on improving the traffic systems. While some people believe that governments should allocate a vast amount of money on building new railway lines for high-speed trains between cities, others think developing available public transport is a better choice. This essay aims to discuss both views before presenting my own opinion.

On the one hand, there are two major reasons why people trust that the construction of novel railway lines for fast trains between cities should be invested. Firstly, such trains may help to save commuting time because of its high speed. This is obviously attractive to many citizens, especially those whose accommodation is distant from their workplaces, or those who ambitious to expand their businesses to other cities. Secondly, as trains are well-known for their abilities to contain a huge number of passengers, their appearance could be the solution to traffic congestion. Specifically, it can significantly reduce the number of people traveling by their private cars; and therefore, the frequency of traffic jams may be dramatically declined.

On the other hand, others have a belief that such an amount of money should be allocated to upgrade the existing public transport because of its accessibility and convenience. This is to say that the available public modes of transport tend to be more approachable and convenient for both long and short traveling distances, while trains are more suitable for long journeys. Typical evidence for this is the distance between two bus stations is much nearer than that between two railway stations. Also, the available means of public transport are familiar with most populations as they have been used for a long time. Accordingly, inhabitants would certainly prefer using public transports to the new high-speed trains for their daily commute routine. As a result, if authorities spend national budgets on upgrading and developing the public transports facilities and infrastructure, citizens would be encouraged to use such transports more frequently.

In conclusion, the reasons for each point of view can be easily identified. However, from my perspective, it seems to me that allocating money for the development of existing public transport is a more efficient and sustainable option compared to building a new railway line.