Some people claim that museums and art galleries are not needed today, because eveyone can see historical objects or art works by computer. Do you agree or disagree?

As the development of computer technology can help us to see historical objects or artworks through digital screens, many people widely accept that museums and art galleries are no longer necessary. Personally, I totally disagree with these ideas because of their irreplaceable role in both tourism industries and cultural and historical conservation.

In terms of tourism, museums and art galleries are tourist attractions of numerous countries as they are considered as masterpieces themselves. To be more specific, such places are attractive and well-known not only for the artworks they possess but also for their astonishing architecture and unique atmosphere which are built carefully by many professional architectures. For instance, the Nature Museum in London is constructed with a well-calculated structure and that aims to optimize the visitors' first-hand experiences. When visitors go sight-seeing inside this museum, they would have the opportunities to see the animal models in the revolutionary orders and in their distinctive habitats like in the wild. Therefore, they could fully experience and immerse themselves in vivid museums. In contrast, computer screens can only bring them pictures and some relevant descriptions, which are quite informative but boring.

On the other hand, the presence of museums and art galleries is crucial for the preservation of tangible cultural and historical heritages. Specifically, these places are designed to provide suitable environmental conditions, such as temperature or humidity, to store objects and artworks and ensure they are not degraded over time. Furthermore, displaying such objects in museums or galleries helps to show the human's appreciation towards the heritages of the world. This is an effective way to present to the young generation our attitudes to these objects; and accordingly, educate them to appreciate the history and culture.

In conclusion, museums and art galleries play an essential role in both developing the tourism industry and preserving the cultural and historical heritages. Therefore, I completely disagree with the viewpoint that they are no longer needed because of the appearance of computers.