It is common nowadays for each member of the family to have their own piece of modern technology. Some people think this will lead to a break down in family relationships and communication.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As contemporary digital devices have become an indispensable part of our daily routine, many people widely blame that family relationships and communication will be broken down because of such advances. In my opinion, I completely concur with this statement.

On the one hand, despite the huge advantages that technological development offers to human life, they could unconsciously make the kinship superficial. To be more specific, the family relationship is generally built and strengthened on valuable emotions and memories which are created by numerous experiences and challenges that are shared by each member. However, the presence of technology has occupied most of the spare time of modern families, which means family members would spend less time on family activities, such as gathering at night to share their stories and struggles or organizing a family reunion with different generations. Accordingly, their senses of kinship may be significantly declined and weaker over time.

On the other hand, technological advances also lower the quality of family communication. This is because the current development of technology allows us to communicate through thousand of online applications and platforms, such as Facebook and Skype, which indirectly decrease face-to-face conversations and interactions. This could be convenient and efficient at first since people can communicate without worrying about physical distance. Nevertheless, in a long term, a breakdown in conversation could happen because people cannot recognize others' emotions and situations hidden behind the virtual screen.

In conclusion, I totally agree that the development of technology could weaker and break family relationships and communication. Therefore, people should be more cautious and notice its impaction on the connection between family members.