In recent times big cities try to solve the problems caused by the means of transportation and accomodation; thus, governments suggest citizens migrate to the coubtryside. While there area many upsides related to this governmental decision, I am of the view that its drawbacks are considerably more, as this essay discusses.

Moving from big cities to the outskirts is endorsed by a lot of advantages corcerning the mitigation of air pollution and the enlargement of available places to live. Indeed, the influx of inhabitants to the large cities has led to traffic problems and therefore increased emissions of gases. Meanwhile, the majority of people in cities do not live in spacious apartments or sometimes they have no place to live. This is why the aforementioned problems would be soved if governments decide to make people move to rural areas. According to a suvey, the recent decision of the government of the Southern Sweden to persuade its citizens to migrate in the countryside resulted in a decreased percentage of polluntant gases emitted in the atmosphere.

However, bt emigrating to the outskirts of the large cities means an elimination in the available facilities and the professional development as well. More specifically, it is widely stated that the big cities offer a plethora of amenities in comparison with plural areas, from a better heating system of the houses to the variety of the public means of transportation and of the activities that individuals have to spend their leisure time. Moreover, most of the citizens of big cities have decided to emigrate to them in order to find an adequate job or to work in international companies which operate their headquarters in the centre of cities like New York or Singapore. If governments decided to make them be residents of the countryside, this would have an inimical impact in their personal and vocational development.

In conclusion, despite its advantages, a decision of governments proposing to the citizents to emigrate in the outskirts would have detrimental effects for the latter.