advantages and disadvantages of the use of organic foods

Using organic food has grown significantly over recent years. Although it has important advantages, there are some problems as a barrier to spreading out completely.

The two main advantages of organic food are producing more healthy food and environmental protection.

Firstly, there is no doubt that removing chemical fertilizers and pesticides leads to producing food of high quality. Since there is a strong correlation between healthier meals and the reduction of physical disease, lifestyles are changed toward the application of organic foods. For instance, digestion problems provoke more people to omit conventional food from daily diets.

The second main advantage is related to environmental aspects. Traditional agriculture relies on the consumption of different types of hazardous chemical-based fertilizers and pesticides, which might be to raise the level of soil and water resources pollution. Hence, it will have serious repercussions on both the quality of crops and soil grade in the future. Moreover, it can change the ecosystem by killing all of the insects that are necessary to do pollination. For instance, about two hundred years ago, one of the Chinese kings ordered to eliminate all insects in the gardens of the city to protect the crops from affection. As an unpredicted result, the trend of pollination has been stopped and people were forced to do it themselves by hand.

However, agriculture methods that aim to develop organic foods also have some disadvantages. Two major of them are being more costly and unavailability in comparison with commercial methods.

It seems that modern agriculture with the purpose of organic food production will also be considerably expensive because of using sophisticated fertilizers and other required additives that certainly are higher priced rather than usual chemical materials.

As the last point, it is also true that the main agriculture process is still based on the traditional procedure which led to some difficulties to have appropriate organic foods everywhere you need. For example, it would be unimaginable to find organic foods in the majority of supermarkets or shops.

In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the potential of organic foods as a substituent for current options; But the financial and accessibility play as obstacles. From my point of view, organic foods, in spite of being healthier and ecologically friendly, the disadvantages are outweighed the positive effects.