The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the proliferation of the English language on an international scale is profoundly impacting many countries by benefiting underdeveloped nations’ businesses and tourism through globalisation and providing its people with a foundation for accessing the quality education available in developed countries. Although the drawbacks do exist, benefits are countless. I believe that the benefits of this trend have more significance than its demerits and this will continue in the coming years.

The widespread usage of a single language, English in this case, attracts foreign investors and tourists from developed countries; promoting globalisation, and it has both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, the economy is improved through the profitable businesses of multi-national companies. In addition to this, the tourists’ arrivals increase due to hospitality enjoyed when spoken to in a common language. Moreover, this influx increases the government’s revenue generated from the hospitality industry. On the other hand, the promotion of international businesses can harm the local business expansions. Furthermore, due to the increasing use of the English language, many local languages are getting less priority and thus impacting the cultural identity of many nations.

English provides a solid foundation for people seeking quality education in developed countries and equips them to secure a high paying job in a multinational company. Firstly, it is the only medium of teaching instruction in the world’s top universities; an active command of the language secures an admission to a university. To add, knowledge of the language place candidates a step forward in the job hunting pool; the chances are high that the desired position is earned.

While the increasing usage of English attracts foreign businesses and tourists in underdeveloped nations, local businesses may be stifled, and natives may be undermined. However, the benefits it brings to these nations through globalisation, and their people by laying a foundation for quality education eclipse its drawbacks, which in my opinion, is a positive trend.