Advertising is all around us; it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undoubtedly true that advertisement has been rising on an unprecedented scale and many people these days believed that it can have several advantages to humanity. From my perspective, both the negative and positive sides of advertising should be mentioned

On the one hand, there is a variety of benefits the advertisement brings. In the first place, promotion can be a good means of accelerating economic development. Advertising has played an important role in drawing more attention from potential customers. This is shown by an increasing number of enterprise spending a large budget on publicity. Furthermore, there is numerous kind of commodities that consumer needs to be fully informed before purchase. Insurance, which is an extraordinarily complicated product, can be a suitable case in point. Besides the economic value, advertisement allegedly considered as one of the art forms. There appear to be shreds of evidence that promotion can be thought-provoking and educational. It seems to be true that moralistic messages about affection, friendship or family core value are well received by the audience

Nevertheless, the negative impacts of advertising should not be underestimated. First and foremost, it is detrimental to mental health. There is numerous advertisement reportedly targeted the youngsters for marketing. Consequently, there is a remarkable quantity of children addicting to watch advertising. The second drawback is that publicity may lead to a materialistic lifestyle. Various organizations are extravagant promotions about their products and have the tendency to tempt people into making unnecessary purchases. Last but not least, excessive advertising may be considered as an unwelcome intrusion rather than useful information. Advertising through mass media such as social network or electronic mail can be pretty annoying if it appeared frequently

To sum up, adverting can be a medium for boosting the economy or sending optimistic messages, but it also can be harmful to psychological health, become an unwelcome intrusion or even lead to a consumerism society