Advertising encourages consumers to buy in quantity rather than promoting quality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, advertising holds an important role in the economic development. Many people believe that advertisement’s aim is the amount of consumption and quality of products are not improved. In my opinion, I partly agree with this idea.

On the one hand, advertising can promote the advancement of manufacturing process. Firstly, advertisements inform customers about the choices that they have. It provides some details about products like nutrition index, components and features which help consumer select suitable items. Secondly, advertisements create competitions among companies. Currently, customers often tent to healthy products and give their feedback about advantages and disadvantages of goods on selling website after they utilize. As a result, companies must enhance quality of products and reduce prizes in order to meet customer’s demand.

On the other hand, advertising mainly focus on selling products. First, advertisements often exaggerate quality of products which lead to buying of consumers. False information which is not endorsed can mislead customers about their quality of goods. For example, on Facebook many girls often buy cosmetics which are unknown origin through exaggeration of uses. These products can cause allergies, skin infection and other diseases which impact seriously on their health. Furthermore, now we live in a consumer culture with continuous changes of technology and modern products and fashion clothing. And advertisements persuade us to follow the latest trend or stick certain brands with a higher status. If we do not have a careful and wise selection, we will waste time, money and lose our satisfaction of life.

In conclusion, I agree that advertising is a key part of business and have positive effect on their consumer culture if it conveys real information to customers.