Advertising which can be seen everywhere in daily life influences what people think and has negative effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The proliferation of contemporary lifestyles has brought about several socio-economic debates. For instance, modern advertisement industry is believed to cause serious mental damages to its audiences. From my point of view, I wholeheartedly concur with this notion for various reasons which will be discussed below.

First, the underlying reason for my belief is that advertising campaigns might deliver inappropriate contents and violent visuals. Since advertising programs are broadcasted nationally through popular communication channels such as televisions and mobile phones, the censor boards find it hard to fully control and take actions promptly with substandard information. In fact, despite the European authorities’ s efforts on abandoning violence contents on public media and restricting censorship regulations, according to their report in the early 2017, there was more than 70% family-movie websites appeared sensitive and horror games advertising like Lord of Legends or Wargame.

Second, another factor contributing to my standpoint is that these advertising might blind its customers and viewers by overrating the companies ’s products. If a company wants to raise sales and gain great attention from the public, they need to persuade the potential customers that their products are among the best in the market, so they create a advertising campaigns with false praises about the products. For example, in July 2017, a number of Western clothing companies received criticism and negative feedbacks about the great differences between their real products and online images.

In conclusion, I hold true to my belief that advertising industry has badly affected human mental health. In other words, the advertising disadvantages literally outweighed its advantages due to several explanations above.