After graduation, some students tend to get a job immediately, others like to study further. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When leaving university or college, people face the dilemma of whether to pursue a career immediately or to take further study. Although there are some positive aspects to studying more, I would argue that it is better to get to work.

The option to continue to study after graduation is appealing for several reasons. Firstly, people studying further could get a higher qualification that is priceless and timeless. Nowadays, there is an existing contradictory issue in the job market of many countries. While more and more people are unemployed, many companies are facing a shortage of labours. The main reason causes this problem is most of employees are inexperienced and they do not meet the demands of enterprises, so there is a huge number of opportunities for people being more qualified. Secondly, after graduating from universities, various students do not what they want to do thus studying more is a productive use of time. In this time, they also find a clear career goal that makes them move upwards towards a higher level of achievement.

On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for graduates to get work. The major reason is they would have a financial incentive that make them become independent and self-sufficient. As most students depend on their parents for tuition fee and cost of living for a long time, they want to be self-supporting to release burden on their parents. Besides, a stable income not only encourage people to work harder but it also improve their standard of living. Moreover, young people having careers could gain much experience that gives them both job and promotion opportunities. One of the most important evaluation criteria of recruitment is ability of applicants to put knowledge into practice, so an experienced candidate would earn more benefits.

In conclusion, it seems to me that young people are likely to thrive in their careers if they start working as soon as they get out of university or college.