Air traffic is lwading to more noise, pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth of low- cost passenger flights, others to low cost holiday destinations. Some people say that the government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it heavily.

Do you agree or disagree?

The emergence of cost-effective plane tickets and vacation packages had promted a sognificant rise on the air transport industry. Consequentle, additional airport facilities were built which resulted to further noise, pollution and air traffic. These drawbacks have encouraged to push for additional tax to the industry, which I am strongly opposed to.

In the first place, flight taxes are already very expensive. I do not think airports will be amenable to increase it more because of the fear of losing revenues. If this proposition will be implemented, people will surely search for other means of transport that better suit their budget. I, for one have purchased discounted plane tickets but the astronomical tax more than made up for the lessened price.

Furthermore, if commuters turn to different modes of travelling like trains and cars, pollution, noise and traffic will still remain as issues, only this timr if would be on land rather than on air. The frequency of flights may lessen but as a result, the number of land and sea vehicles will also increase eventually reaching the same amount of pollution caused by aviation.

Therefore, it is impractical to increase the burden among passengers by adding to the already heavy taxes. This is not only because it poses a risk for decline in profitd but it also offers a little solution to pollution and it even compromises the safety and convenience of travellers.