All cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and electric cars should replace them. Do you agree or disagree. Give your opinion.

Nowadays there is a new trend of replacing traditional cars to electric ones, because of their benefits and advantages. However, I stand a different opinion with two key factors, which include significant difficulties in recycling and replacing, also batteries are not very environmentally friendly.

Automobiles have been widely used since the industrial revolution and currently there have been millions of cars running daily which burn billions of litres of fossil fuels annually. If governments present a new policy to replace all of them, it will be very troublesome and significant. Another big problem is how to recycle or renovate these exist cars and once the unwanted materials have been collected, how to reuse them in an environmentally friendly way. For instance, the closure of millions of petrol station and those underground pipelines for gases may become useless and it creates a potential danger when undergoing construction with these flammable fluids.

On the other hand, batteries may cause more environmental problems when not recycling properly. The battery will lose its efficiency by time and need to be replaced which creates new problems. Furthermore, if the battery is left in the motor vehicles for a long time, it will gradually lose its electricity and eventually start to leak some acid liquid which could damage not only the engine room but also the soil underneath the parking. Take the mobile phone, for example, the Li-ion battery is designed to be recharged fully up to 500 times, after exceeding this number, its capacity would drop to 70 per cent or less. Either replacing or keep using it, both may cause other problems which are the storage of used battery and poor remaining power, respectively.

Given the above points, simply banning fossil fuel forced automobile and taking electric ones as an alternative is not the perfect solution. As there will be more problems with recycling and replacing the present fuel cars, in addition, the batteries used in electric vehicles that may have potential problems.