All museums and art galleries should be free because they are an important part of a country's culture. How far do you agree with this statement

Tourism is a major driver for the economies of several countries, for instance, Sri Lanka, Mauritius, The Bahamas, etc. people come to these countries for a vacation and also to learn about the country’">country’s culture by visiting national monuments, art galleries, museums, etc. thus the question arises, should the entry to art galleries and museums be free?

art galleries and museums can serve as a source of income to the government or the organisation owning it. also, these structures need regular maintenance to keep them up to date and without a fee, it can become difficult to arrange required money to maintain them. In addition to this, if the art gallery or museum becomes a success, the revenue emanating from it can not only be used to expand existing infrastructure but also build new such structures.

However, apart from tourists, the local public should also be taken into account. The local people may not be able to afford the entry fee, especially those of a developing country and thus may miss out on important information about their motherland. A youngster missing out, on such information may be found wanting during discussions on the culture of his homeland when he visits foreign countries for study or work. Moreover, with people tending to adopt foreign culture easily these days, it is critical that the home culture is infused in them to preserve the integrity and originality of a nation. All of these can be encouraged by making entry to museums and art galleries free to local people. apart from this, for students, it becomes easy to relate to the characters and events in their history books when they see them portrayed in the gallery or museum. Schools can organise free trips as part of learning series to these places.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that the entry to museums and art galleries should be free as they are an important part of a country’">country’s culture. The maintenance of these structures can be sponsored through individual donations or government support.