Although it is believed that pleasure reading is a better way to improve imagination and linguistic skills, I think that learning through watching TV is as effective as reading.

Of course, reading for pleasure brings benefits to the readers. When reading, the readers have to use their creativeness to comprehend the concept and the context delivered in the book. For example, children reading fiction may need to visualise the event written in the book, therefore improving their imaginative thinking. Also, reading can enhance the language, especially in reading and writing. As a language teacher, I have seen students reading a text in their native or foreign languages and have questions about the vocabulary, sentence structure or grammar use. This has helped them better understand of grammatical and lexical usage.

Many people think that TV is not a good choice to enhance imagination and language ability because they might focus too much on commercial and entertaining programmes. However, they should realise the fact that other channels such as tourism or news inform audience and help them imagine the world around. Otherwise, those who want to improve their thinking and imaginative skills can watch many educational programmes as quiz shows. I think the matter is only watching appropriate programs. In terms of language skills, people can improve their listening and speaking skills as they can listen to the sound of the word and the use in spoken context with vivid images to illustrate the exact meaning.

In conclusion, reading is often recommended to improve language capabilities and imagination power for an individual, but the role of TV in the individual’s development of verbal abilities and imaginative thinking should not be underrated.