Although nowadays many people have access to sports facilities, modern lifestyles are becoming less and less active.

What problems are associated with this?

How can people be persuaded to have a more active lifestyle?

While sports amenities are becoming more accessible, people tend to be less active than they once were. From my perspective, this issue can lead to several detrimental effects, in terms of people’s well-being and healthcare costs, and governments should provide free sports facilities and raise the younger generation’s awareness towards the benefit of exercising in order to encourage residents to have a more active way of life.

First of all, inactive lifestyles can have a negative effect on people’s health. It is common practice that without working out, the muscles and immune system cannot be improved, which makes people more likely to suffer from severe health problems, such as diabetes, heart disease, and cancer. Moreover, the increase in the number of patients can result in higher healthcare costs as hospitals have to expand their infrastructure and people need expensive treatments to stay alive. As the result, poorer people are unable to access these treatments, thus leading to other problems in social and economical aspects.

In order to convince the public to adopt more active lifestyles, it is necessary for governments to introduce more free sports capabilities. In fact, people can be incentives to maintain active behaviors as they have opportunities to approach sports amenities without paying any expenses. For example, Da Nang city has seen a significant rise in the number of citizens using bicycles to work, since those means of transport had been provided freely by the authority. In addition, the younger generation should be exposed to Physical education classes regularly at schools so that doing exercises can become their second nature, thus they will be well aware of the benefits of maintaining a healthy and active way of living in the future.

In conclusion, sedentary lifestyles are likely to cause serious problems to people’s well-being as well as increase medical costs, and it is important to encourage dwellers to pursue active lifestyles by providing free sports facilities and raising young people’s perception of the benefits of doing exercise.