It is increasingly common for young people to take a gap year between school and university or after graduating from university and before starting work.

Why do you think people like to take a gap year?

What do you think is the best way to spend a gap year?

new Roman"; background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">it is true that taking a gap year before going to university or joining the workforce is becoming a prominent trend among the younger generation. There are several reasons that lead to this phenomenon and I also believe that with careful plans, young people can attain lots of benefits from a year off.

new Roman"; background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">To begin with, one reason that people prefer to take a break is that it is an appealing opportunity for them to be physically and mentally relaxed. it is a common practice that after a long period of hard work or study, young adults tend to spend a certain amount of time to recharge and eliminate all stressors before they could be ready to face new challenges, such as moving to higher education or applying to a new firm. For instance, a research conducted by Harvard university in 2010 had shown that less than 20% of first-year students who did not suffer from anxiety and depression were those that took a year break. Moreover, taking a long break can provide favorable conditions for young people to acquire new skills that are necessary for their learning course or future career. A good example is that people in Vietnam often spend the break time to study new languages or communication skills, some of the most essential things that can help them secure their success in any circumstances.

new Roman"; background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">In terms of gaining benefits from a gap year, I am of the opinion that people should set up a thorough scheme to make use of it effectively. In fact, the younger generation has a tendency to travel for recreation and exploration. By doing this, they can find a way to relieve the pressure as well as enjoy numerous cultures and stunning landmarks across the world. In addition, taking part in volunteering activities is also a good chance for young people to not only learn a significant amount of valuable knowledge but also discover their area of interest since volunteerings ranges from economic development to helping the poor people.

new Roman"; background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">In conclusion, I think that taking a gap year can bring about tons of merits for young people, regarding their relaxation and learning new things. In addition, travelling and doing volunteering work may also be very useful for them to make a gap year worthwhile.

new Roman"; background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">