Although there has been a large increase in the numbers of women who go out to work, women continue to do a disproportionate amount of housework and childcare. What can be done to promote greater equality between men and women within the home?

These days, gender inequality has been an urgent problem that could not be fully tackled in many societies for a long time. Consequently, this leads to the gender stereotype that housework and caring children are mostly women’s responsibilities even though women are now having more jobs. In order to address inequality among genders within the home, I will list out several probable solutions in this essay.

Firstly, companies and the Government should conspire and participate to the social change in gender equality by limiting the working time for the women or dividing the workload equally between two genders. A good example for this is that companies and offices should give female workers a privilege of coming back home early to give them more spare time taking care of their families. This approach in turn will help families and couples balance working and personal lives and have the ideal amount of time to take care both of our career and family.

Another method to address this issue is that the Government should take immediate action to change the gender stereotype by using media, celebrities or public events. For example, we can organize a contest which encourages people working in media create videos or short documentary films depicting women’s personal lives and current gender prejudice within home. With the help of events similar to this, media could deliver a message of promoting the greater fairness of the female and supporting women in domestic chores.

In conclusion, the Government and society should take advantage of media and the strength of various companies, thereby narrowing the gender gap between women and men.