An American film actor John Wayne once said, “Tomorrow is important and precious”. How is it important for individuals and societies to think about the future than focusing on the present only?

It is believed that people should appreciate the future over the present and should always live towards the future. Although I agree that lives may not be so meaningful without passions, and ambitions, I also think that the present is particularly incomparable.

There are many reasons why it is crucial to be farsighted, but in my opinion, it is simply because the future is unpredictable. This means that every individual stands a high chance of facing challenges throughout their lifetime, and therefore making a meticulously-outlined plan acts as a roadmap and guidance for life as it helps to minimize unexpected consequences. This can be perfectly exemplified by success stories such as Bill Gates or Elon Musk who have efficient marketing strategies being planned even years before launching their new products into the market. Additionally, we, as human beings, not only live for ourselves but also have a responsibility to take care of our birth-givers and offspring. The preparation for their retirement and adulthood is reflected in the expenses including tuition fees, medical care, and other recreational activities. Without a contingency plan, they may not feel a sense of purpose and direction, having no goals and dreams to strive toward as a result. Hence, devising a future scheme can be considered the matter of life or death.

However, people, in general, should not underestimate the present because they only live once in a lifetime. If they place too much emphasis on planning for the forthcoming time by sacrificing all of their time working, it is possible that they miss out on many important life events each passing moment. A husband, for instance, may not be able to remember his wife’s birthday, or a child may take for granted their elderly parents’ health, and when they realize that they have lost the simple but so precious things in life, it is all too late. One more thing is that everyone is entitled to enjoy every moment of life, so apart from making a living, it is extremely important to be self-loved. This can be done by having a hearty meal with the family on the weekend or treating ourselves to meaningful gifts or holidays on special occasions. It is these moments that make our future.

To conclude, due to the aforementioned reasons, I believe that it is vital for one to ensure his living standards. At the same time, he should also develop sensible strategies for the future.