Topic: Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems.

To what extend do you agree?

During the era of urbanization, improving transport infrastructure has always been major concern for city planners. Some argue that it is essential to allocate money to expand more roads and motorways while others support the idea of upgrading public transportation. From a personal standpoint, both approaches deserve the government’s attention and should be equally invested.

Undoubtedly, the expansion of roads and motorways, especially in metropolises, is an approach to traffic problems. In developing countries, typically Vietnam, traffic congestion has become more worrying than ever before due to the introduction of more cars and motorbikes. Therefore, improving the traffic system is considered one of the most effective solutions to accommodate the increasing number of private vehicles. Additionally, in rural areas where motor vehicles and personal transport are people's main modes, constructing new roads is essential as it facilitates individual mobility and transporting goods while decreasing travel time. This hopefully boosts the local economy and hence improves their income. Also, improved road infrastructure is an optimal approach to guarantee better access to remote areas, especially in an emergency, meaning that public safety is ensured.

Nevertheless, overreliance on personal means of transport may lead to work delays which results from traffic congestion in big cities. This traveling habit even worsens pollution owing to the emission of greenhouse gases into the environment, significantly contributing to global warming and reducing the population of wildlife such as whales, turtles, and many bird species. Moreover, the erection and maintenance of extensive roads may cost the government a fortune which should be allocated to improving alternative traffic systems. Concerning the environment and financial resources, developing public transportation is of great importance. In fact, trains and buses appear to produce far less pollutants than automobiles and motorbikes. More importantly, using public transport happens to be more feasible for low-income residents as the tickets are much more affordable compared to fuel costs.

All things considered, while the convenience of road commuters is undeniable in some respects, the public transport system should be taken into consideration when it comes to urban planning since the possibility of solving pollution, congestion, and financial difficulties in some parts of the world.