Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

In recent years, traffic jams have become more and more serious and occurred frequently, especially during rush hours, thereby solving this problem is one of the top priorities in nations worldwide. While there are some valid arguments that the government should invest the budget for roads and motorways rather than for transport infrastructure, I contend that both roads and public transport systems play an important role in modern society. Therefore, they should be equaled investment.

One major ground behind this rise of the opinion supporting building more sustainable roads and motorways is that this approach is likely to address the jam-packaged effectively in peak hours. This is because if the government allows the construction of more infrastructure in metropolitan areas, participants' traffic would have various ways to commute to work without suffering from being got held up in heavy traffic for a long time. In addition, police are conducive to regulating the traffic flow in many intersections, making the contribution to reducing the rate of traffic accidents. Therefore, inhabitants may feel safe when engaging in traffic due to increased the level of security. In Vietnam, for example, there is a myriad of accidents involved in the quality of main roads like big holes in streets, which lead to residents are fallen and being hurt on slippery roads.

Nonetheless, building extended roads and upgrading motorways is probably an immediate method. In the long run, the authority should take into consideration upgrading the public transport system. Due to the fact that environmental pollution raises concerns among countries around the world, encouraging the utilization of public transport not only decreases traffic congestion in metro cities but also improves air quality by filtering particulates out of the air. Furthermore, according to a recent study, noise becomes one of the primary factors resulting in the psychological disorder because of sleep disturbance. Consequently, in long term, it may have a negative impact on public mental health as well as bring down productivity at work.

In conclusion, although spending on building roads and making way for motorways brings several benefits for both residents and the police force, chances are that investing in public transport systems tackles multiple issues related to environmental pollution at a high level. Therefore, the government and dwellers should join hands in order to combine practicing both methods.