Some people say that it is the responsibility of individuals to save money for their own care after they retire.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

As the baby boomers born in the post-WWII period exceed their retirement age, they are placing an incredibly tremendous burden on society. The ensuing rapid depletion of social security fund and strained financial sources available have prompted many to save up sufficient money for their own good after they retire. This alternative possibility is obviously not rested on solid ground. From my personal standpoint, the shared responsibilities among individuals, the government, and the young generation could benefit the sake of both the retired and the government finance.

Retired elderly people are often labeled as being overly financially dependent because they have no access to any source of income, and their expenses would culminate into quite a formidable figure. Be this as it may, it is still regarded as the primary responsibility of the government to take care of the retired in consideration of their immense contributions to our society before they reach retirement age. Once they leave their jobs of physical inferiority, the government should, beyond no doubt, assume the obligation to look after them in return for their contributions. Besides, children of the retired are also expected to share the burden of taking care of their parents which could be regarded as a means of paying their due filial piety.

Some people might argue that elderly people are gradually exhausting a large number of social funds posing a serious threat to economic development and significantly undermining any potential endeavor to be mounted in other areas. Apparently, this could hardly be justified. However, one main argument against the financial burden of the retired is that the well-being of the retired people is as important as any other issue confronting any government. They are as much entitled to social welfare as any other issues confronting any government. They are as much entitled to social welfare as any other group of people. In fact, they constitute the majority of people who deserve financial support offered by the government. Unless the government budget is downsized, a pension fund will be a practical option to provide protection for employees and the retired.

The pension scheme definitely plays an essential role in guaranteeing the self-sufficient life of retired people. As long as both the government and the younger generation show their share responsibilities, the lives of the retired, as well as the society, would be much better off.