The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Following the thriving and innovation in many aspects of society, leads to arise several problems, and one of the most urgent issues, which draw much attention is environmental issues. There are those who opine that the most optimal solution for global environmental problems is to raise the price of fuel. From my perspective, I maintain that a global awareness campaign is the most feasible option.

On the one hand, rising the price of fuel means increases in transportation costs for businesses. As a result, the price of products will also be increased remarkably in order to expense all of these costs. This solution may have indirectly an unexpected effect on the quality of life of people who just have lower-income. This is often the case for Vietnamese who have a tendency to purchase imported merchandise so that they will be given more chances to purchase much nutritious food that may not be available in Vietnam’s market. However, because of rising imported taxes, this food such as American beef has been pretty expensive to far-reaching for lots of people. Moreover, transportation expenses have a great influence on people’s lives, especially those having low incomes. Therefore, raising the price of fuel can make it difficult for them in making ends meet which can result in a higher poverty rate.

On the other hand, there are several extraordinary benefits that we need to consider thoroughly. The first advantage is that today most vehicles are running on fossil fuel, making this fuel becoming the most prevalent energy hard to replace. Therefore, if the government introduces higher taxes on using non-renewable sources, citizens may tend to choose eco-friendly energy as an alternative. Besides, this approach makes the community cut down on using private vehicles with the aim to balance the expenses. In this way, it will bring more advantages in contributing to confining pollution to the environment, especially greenhouse gas, which is one of the primary causes driving the global warming phenomenon. Another reason is that there are lots of companies relying on petrol fuel, for example, to operate the machine systems. Hence, in this aspect, increasing the cost of finite resources will create the motivation for them to convert to consuming natural resources such as solar energy and wind energy.

In conclusion, while increasing fuel costs can partly solve the environmental problems by discouraging private vehicle usage, the ideal solution would be making the public and enterprises aware of these issues. I am also convinced that once more resolute actions are taken, humans can reverse the effect of climate change and environmental problems.