Topic: Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and

Effects?

In order to keep pace with the latest technology in modern society, a number of people have to work longer hours. In fact, in urban areas, this lifestyle has become a tendency nowadays. This essay will shed light on the detailed reasons behind this trend as well as potential solutions to tackle this issue.

One significant ground behind this current trend is that today, co-workers have been put under an enormous pressure. In fact, in spite of a variety of available jobs in metropolitan areas, people still confront many challenges in the competitive labour market so as to get a promising job. Unless they get a well-paid job after graduating, they would be criticized and underestimated by other people, even their beloved ones. As a result, they might be suffered from peer pressure, which leads to working long hours to land a sufficient career. In addition, obviously, the demand for working extra hours often stems from increasing demand in the workplace. With the aim of catching up with the competition in an increasingly globalized market, employees have to take charge of multitasking or a ton of workload, however, it is often a lack of proficient employees. Consequently, workers have to work additional hours to compensate, which is exemplified clearly in IT-related sectors. According to a recent study, a Vietnam program developer frequently devotes an average of 10 hours per day to integrating complicated software systems.

Actions should be taken into consideration as soon as possible to minimize the problem and enhance the quality of life as well. Extra office hours can have an adverse effect on both workers’ health and their personal life. First of all, working longer hours are likely to undergo insufficient rest, a decrease in energy, and eventually health conditions in extreme cases. This is illustrated in research conducted in Japanese white-collar workers, who have to stay in their offices for approximately 14 hours, resulting in spinal injuries, arthritis, and increased risk of strokes. Furthermore, as more time is spent at work, co-workers definitely do not have enough time to enjoy a great time with their loved ones, which may be an external factor weakening bonds between family members and friends. As a result, this can generate a feeling of general dissatisfaction and probably gradual dispart from each other. People who are suffering in the long run, they are prone to stress and depression seriously.

In conclusion, extended working hours are associated with increasing demands in the workplace as well as external strains, preventing employees from leading a healthy and adopting a balanced life. Therefore, I believe governments should enact laws that impose weekly overtime standards for corporations.