Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

Some argue that the position of different types of roads is more important than public transport systems. In my opinion, money should be allocated in both.

Public transport network would relieve density of private vehicles on roads which is the main culprits of traffic congestion and air pollution. As living standard of people has witnessed increasing improvement in recent decades, number personal vehicle ownership also rises simultaneously. The quantity of vehicles would eventually outnumber the capacity of the existing highways and road system that results in traffic jams and accidents. Likewise, the operation of private vehicles which depends greatly on burning fossil fuel which accounts for the majority of carbon emission in metropolitan areas. Thus, investment in public facilities supporting public vehicles would have positive impacts on the traffic and nature.

Nevertheless, the role of roads designed for automobiles, motorbikes are also significant. It facilitates the smooth movement of vehicles which encourage the exchange of goods and shorten the delivery time. This contributes enormously to the productivy and efficiency of national economy, which is a sign of a prosperous and wealthy country. More importantly, state-of-the-art transportation infrastructure is a fundamental element to attract foreign investment. The overseas financial source would ecourage the development of other factors within countries including more employment opportunities, industrial expansion, management procedure, especially the less developed ones. These would pave the way for the further growth of a country.

In sum, road and public transport network benefit people in different ways. Government should therefore manage national fund to construct roads and public transport infrastructure in oder to meet the needs of both.