Many countries spend large amounts of money on preparing competitors in major world sporting events such as the Olympic Games and football World Cup. Instead, this money can be spent on encouraging children to take up sports at a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that money should be spent on large global sporting events, while others think that the authorities should fund to support sport participation for children. In my opinion, both investments are necessary.

To organize main sport events, nations have to allocate money in constructing relevant infrastructure and facilities. This not only helps spread out popularity of sports but stimulate the growth of economy of the host countries. First, when citizens watch and support their athlets competing in the global events, the audience would feel a sense of national pride and social solidarity. Another merit of holding international events is that they would motivate people to join in the sport themselves thus enhance their personal health. From economic perspectives the investment in sporting encourage the flourishment of nation's economy. More jobs are created, travel sector is stimulated, spending of tourists who attend the events can be used to fund other priorities. Thus, even though the benefits of holding major sporting activities seem unclear, it contributes to the host countries in many ways.

However, given the funding of authorities for development of sport among children would result in better health and the flourisment of sport of a nation. First, it is well-known that public health is closely correlated to frequency of excercise. As governments increase investment in order to encourage the young to take part in physical activities, the health of these people would be improved. In addition, adolescents may stand a higher chance of following professional sport career thanks to more opportunities created by additional funding. As a result, more athlets would be able to compete in professional championships thus they would achieve higher positions in the contest.

In sum, although organizing sport contests would be beneficial for individuals and country as a whole, the need to develop sports among children is obvious. I concur with the view that financial resources should be spent in both.