Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the main purpose of advertisement is to increase the sales of merchandises that are inessential for buyers. I somewhat disagree with this viewpoint, even though the promotion channel can be harnessed to stamp out manufacturers' inventory in order to garner some financial benefits.

Apart from assiminating out-moded products, advertisements can foster brand image and popularize newly launched offerings. It is not uncommon that companies utilize the marketing tool to popularize philosophies and burnish their public images. This can be materialized by social campaigns and sponsoring for local major events which render the enteprises closer to the masses. Another virtue of advertising is that it spurs the awareness of spenders with trendy items. Before advent of certain products, advantages including organic materials, eco-friendly characteristics are often broadcast to occupy the minds of potential buyers. The approach not only boosts the chance that customers purchase the particular products, but enhances brand identity associated with the products and services.

Admittedly, products with unenviable sales sometimes need a dose of promotion, allowing companies to reap a thin margin to cover the manufaturing expenditure. If the companies fail to deliver successful advertisements, losses would be exacerbated. Utiliztion of advert this way therefore is barely implemented among the manufacturing industry.

In sum, there are other uses of advetisements in lieu of enhancing revenue from products with poor sales, albeit they can be exploited in few situations. I mostly object to the notion that ads are mostly deployed to generate income from less interested products.