As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. In your opinion, what are the causes and what are the effects on both individuals and society as a whole.

write at least 250 words.

Compared to the distant past, family structures in modern society have undergone major alterations as people have a tendency to live individually or in a smaller family unit. This essay will shed light on the primary causes of this growing phenomenon and simultaneously analyze the negative effects it has on individuals themselves as well as society as a whole.

The increase in the number of people pursuing an individualistic lifestyle could be put down to their craving for employment. In some parts of the world, it is not unusual nowadays for villagers to migrate to urban areas in search of job chances and then settle down there. Whereas, their parents are reluctant to leave their homeland partly because they are used to living in the countryside, or they do not want to become their children’s burden. This explains the separation of children, parents, and grandparents, leading to the rise in nuclear families. In addition, it is the massive workload in the era of industrialization that has changed people’s attitudes toward marriage life. Research has shown that the busier and more successful women are, the less likely they are to get married, which they consider being a waste of time. Instead, they devote themselves to developing their own career and enjoy their single status. The generation gap could also be the major cause of this as people living in different periods of time tend to have different lifestyles and mindsets; hence, living in a detached manner appears to be an optimal choice to avoid family conflicts, especially between in-law relationships.

The changes in family sizes and pursuit of privacy may have counter effects not only on individuals themselves but also on the overall development of an economy. Lack of social interaction possibly affects employees’ intimate relationships and collaboration skills, which are believed to be indispensable parts of the modern working environment. Moreover, it also puts the elderly’s safety in jeopardy due to insufficient care and protection, especially in undeveloped nations where social protection centers are not common. On top of that, this new lifestyle is likely to decrease marriage and fertility rates, contributing to the aging population in some countries namely Japan, Italy, and Finland. As a result, their general progressions are constrained.

Everything said and done, increasing demands for life quality, hectic schedules, and generation discrepancies are to blame for this secluded way of living. I, personally, affirm that this mainstream is detrimental to our social interaction in particular as well as society in general.