Some people think that buildings such as flats and houses should be designed to last a long time. Others believe that it is more important to provide accommodation quickly and cheaply.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There are many conflicting views on housing construction. Some people think that houses need to be well built to last for a long time. However, others argue that this should be done as fast and cheaply as possible. In my opinion, these two factors are of equal importance.

The fact that some people support the concept of building a home with a structure certainly comes from a number of reasons, but the major one is safety and aesthetic value. A building being carefully and meticulously constructed from design to choice of materials means it has the ability to withstand natural disasters such as floods, hurricanes, and earthquakes. On the contrary, the sketchy construction will easily lead to the risk of collapse, meaning the possibility of a loss of people and things is very high. Vietnam is a prime example. During the historic flash flood a few years ago, most of the temporarily-built houses were swept away by the flood while the carefully built with high cost remained unaffected.

However, in some cases, affordable housing becomes an urgent and essential need. This stems from the benefits that low-cost housing projects bring to low-income people. Workers and manual laborers who cannot afford comfortable and expensive houses only need a place to return to after stressful working days. Therefore, a luxurious house with full amenities is considered a luxury for this audience. Another reason is that the rapid growth of the global population makes the demand for housing increase. If the construction industry cannot cope, the possibility of people living in homelessness or in slums is very high.

In summary, both of the above criteria should be carefully considered when building a house. A house should be built safely and at a reasonable cost to meet the needs of the growing population and those living in poverty.