Write about the following topic. Some people think that buildings such as flats and houses should be designed to last a long time. Others believe that it is more important to provide accommodation quickly and cheaply. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people think that buildings should be designed to last a long time, while others think that homes which are built reasonably and rapidly are more critical. From my perspective, both opinions are of great significance in equal measure, and I will further elaborate in this essay.

On the one hand, the proponents of providing low-cost fast built accommodation or houses point out that such buildings should not be a burden for every member of society who is unemployed or has economic instability. Nowadays, the cost of living in many urban areas has been extremely high and people would tend to live in a house that is economic and speedy considering that they do not have to borrow at interest. For these people, it is much better to own a reasonably priced house rather than pay high rent for a house or apartment whereas rents are going up again. For example, in a big city, people often buy a small house at a low cost because it is difficult to buy a house that can be lived in for a long time when house prices are a dramatic increase.

However, I believe that people should buy a building to last a long time, which might even be a real saving scheme in the long term. As a result, buying a cheap compromise could later end up at a huge cost due to low construction quality as well as a high probability of purchasing another same building. For example, if people bought an apartment cheaply, they will have to do lots of upgrading and maintenance work for their low-quality townhouse. Thus, it appears that original investment for a decent place to stay could feasibly benefit those who might be concerned in the long run.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that before people should consider carefully buying a house, which is good materials and corresponding to budget. In the future, governments and builders will concentrate on building houses that last a long time rather than the economy and rapid growth.