Government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens' health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that the government should invest a huge amount of money in medical development in order to ensure its citizen’s health condition. However, I firmly believe that apart from health-related researches, authorities should also put equal emphasis on protecting our habitat. This essay will discuss the reasons for my view as follows.

On the one hand, it is understandable why the government is encouraged to spend an enormous budget on medical researches rather than investing in the conservation of nature. Obviously, the variation in lifestyle has led to an increase in the number of infectious diseases that pose severe threats to society's well-being. Take as an example Covid-19 which not only is responsible for millions of deaths around the world but also causes economic downturns in many nations. Consequently, urgent actions must be taken by governors to allocate money to work out novel medical treatments together with vaccines. The sooner medicines are found, the fewer people will die.

On the other hand, despite the necessity of spending money on health-care studies, on no account should authority underestimate the integral role of ecology and therefore nature sustainability also deserves a large amount of funding. It cannot be denied that human's health significantly depends on surrounding elements such as air, water, soil, etc. that are being seriously polluted by a huge amount of pollutants and toxic waste from domestic and industrial sources. For this reason, financial support from the government to the preservation of the environment makes a great contribution to the positive changes in life. If analyses on negative impacts as well as solutions to improve the habitat quality are not immediately invested, wildlife and human longevity will be affected.

To conclude, each country's rulers should equally invest in health care researches as well as environmental studies at the same time in order to maintain society's sustainable development.