Some people believe a country can benefit a lot from university education. Others believe sending a large number of young students to university leads to unemployment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether higher education is beneficial to society has always been of great concern. It is often argued that encouraging the youth to complete university degrees before going to work is detrimental and results in an increasingly high unemployment rate. I, however, reckon that the benefits this trend brings about outweigh its drawbacks.

It is understandable why some hold the opinion that it is university education that leads many graduates to be unemployed. According to these people, when teenagers are too eager to apply for admission to universities that they considered mainstream, it is highly likely that they impulsively opt for the majors they are not passionate about. Because of this, they may find it hard to adapt to the working environment and feel dissatisfied with the job they do and end up quitting it. Moreover, undergraduates paying too much emphasis on getting distinctive academic outcomes should also be responsible for the shortage of soft skills which are indispensable parts of the competitive job market. For instance, they may not be proficient in communicating with customers, closing deals, or doing market research when it comes to business. As a consequence, they might not impress recruiters when applying for a job.

Despite the aforementioned demerits, I would argue that the merits of this trend are more significant. This is because tertiary education produces a skillful and experienced workforce to contribute to the development of an economy. In fact, students when enrolled in higher academic institutions are equipped with sufficient and specialized knowledge about the areas they are interested in and aim to work at. Hence, they attract employers from state companies to private enterprises, giving them chances to pursue their passions and make a living at the same time. Moreover, a well-trained citizen, with critical thinking skills which are sharpened through group activities during the courses such as presentation, and discussion, is believed to have more rounded perspectives, meaning that they are capable of solving problems in a more reasonable manner, which prevents them from having conflicts with their social relationships. As a result, the intellectual young generation can devote themselves to the promotion of the country’s economy in particular and the society in general.

All things considered, the negative influence brought by getting a higher qualification is inevitable; however, I still firmly believe that it is eclipsed by more advantages regarding a competent labor force and a harmonious society.