Anyone can use a mobile phone to answer the work call and home call at any place, or 7 days a week. Do you think there is more negative or positive on both individuals and society?

It is true that mobile phones enable everyone to receive calls from work and home anywhere and anytime, which might bring great convenience and high efficiency. However, in my view, there are more negative effects than positive effects.

For individuals, the boundary between work and life is blurred. People used to enjoy their leisure time out of working hours, but now they have to stand by in case their supervisors call them to deal with extra work or emergencies. Their rest could also be disturbed if the phone rings at midnight. In addition, in offices, employers feel difficult to concentrate on what they are doing when receiving home calls frequently, thus impairing work efficiency. What is worse, if people answer the phone while driving, they can hardly pay full attention to the road situation, which might cause car accidents that damage their life.

For society, talking on the phone in public places could lead to much noise, even disastrous consequences. Supposing that someone takes personal calls loudly in the movie theatre, the perfect atmosphere would be completely ruined. More seriously, phone calls in hospitals may distract doctors who are performing surgeries. Another example is on airplanes. Some passengers use mobile phones when it is taking off or landing, and this may pose a threat to flight safety.

In conclusion, while answering calls regardless of time and space has certain benefits, I believe that its drawbacks to individuals and society are more significant.