Around the world it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home as computer technology becomes cheaper and more accessible. Do you think it is a negative or a positive development

It is common nowadays that a rising number of adults and students choosing home as the workplace owing that technology has spread widely over the world. In my standpoint, distance working and studying bring us both negative and positive impacts. This essay would discuss two sides of this phenomenon.

There is no denying that working from home provides us with flexibility and convenience. People who work from home do not need to go to the office on a daily basis and then be stuck in traffic congestion; hence, they could save a huge amount of time commuting back and forth to work. Moreover, distance working enables adults to devote more time with their children and spouse, which strengthens their family relationship. Last but not least, if people worked and studied at home, they could be in total control of their working environment and schedule so that they can feel more comfortable to work and study most efficiently.

Apart from its pros, working and studying at home also have a number of cons. Since human is a social animal, staying at home all day alone could make people suffer from the feeling of loneliness and isolation, which may bring some mental health problems. Another issue is that if people worked and studied from a distance, they would have less chance to interact and communicate directly with their colleagues and clients. As a result, children and adults meet difficulties developing their social skills. Additionally, home is an informal environment which makes people easily distracted by things like movies or video games. Consequently, the quality of work became lower than working and studying at office and college.

In summary, distance working and distance learning allows us to be more flexible in work and more convenient in private life. However, it also brings some problems such as mental health illness,the lack of social skills and the decrease in work quality.