Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In recent times, a growing body of adults and children are embarking on telecommuting as well as online learning by virtue of the accessibility and affordability of current technology. Even though this growing trend can be beneficial to our environment, I deem that it does more harm than good to each individuals.

On the one hand, the primary merit of telecommuting and virtual learning is their contribution to the pollution contraction in many large cities. Undoubtedly, due to the excessive emissions from transports of commuters or congestion during peak hours caused by a large volume of traffic on main road, a lot of urban centers suffer from severe air pollution. However, as adults and students work online at home, the number of vehicles can be greatly reduced which would greatly prevent traffic jam as well as noise pollution. As the pollution level is curbed in those cities, not only the environment itself benefit from this but also many residents will as they might enjoy fresher air and a more peaceful neighborhood .

On the other hand, I contend that the drawbacks generated by the upsurge in online working and studying are much more alarming. First of all, prolonged use of computers triggered a number of health implications. This can be exemplified by the fact that sitting in front of their computers for an undue amount of time can place users at risk of having a bad posture or eye problems like eye-strain. In the long run, these issues can be detrimental to one's health thus possibly reducing their efficiency. A second unfavorable effect of this trend is that it can be damaging to our communication skills, especially youngsters who require interaction with peers during their formative years to boost confidence and form a friendship. This can be ascribed to the fact that online learning methods often require less interpersonal interactions between learners. As a result, some students may fail to express themselves efficiently which will badly affected their team work skills as they cannot convey their ideas comprehensively.

In closing, even though our environment can benefit from the growing telecommuting and online studying, the disadvantages that individuals have to bear in terms of health and communication are much more concerning.