With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The growing popularity of the Internet has been a facilitator in propagating news as people can receive them on numerous social media platforms. Although this trend has certain merits, its disadvantages have taken precedence over the advantages.

The primary beneficial effect of acquiring news through social media sites is that they provide immediate updates for online users. Indeed, numerous news propagators have opted for social media platforms as their first method of distributing information due to the all-time high frequency and number of users. Moreover, compared to other traditional news distributors like news programs or newspapers, updating information on social media can be easier and swifter since people just need to write simple statuses without pieces of evidence. Therefore, people are more likely to receive the latest news on social media like Facebook and Twitter rather than through other news broadcasters. These instant updates, as a consequence, allow recipients to gain access to the latest current affairs.

Despite the aforementioned advantage, collecting news on social media sites poses a number of threats for the users. First of all, online readers are susceptible to several fake news due to a lack of clarity examination. Mendacious propaganda is likely to generate misconceptions among users. These fake news can spread at an unprecedented rate if interactions with the information are enhanced. To illustrate, fake information of Covid-19 vaccines' potential impacts on humans' health has been shared by numerous users which has resulted in vaccination objection, impeding authorities from reach herd immunity. Secondly, the overload of information on social media platforms can initiate confusion for users. Since there are numerous versions shared online, it prevented people from discriminating between valid and invalid information.

In conclusion, the accessibility to fresh news on social media can be a merit to users, yet the risks of fake news and information overwhelming are much more considerable.