Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Technological development has made remote working and learning preferable among many individuals compared to the conventional physical presence. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative effects in equal measure.

On the one hand, working from home has many beneficial impacts. First, if employees work at home, they shall be less reliant on personal vehicles to commute. This means that there would be fewer amounts of exhausted fumes in the environment since the number of automobiles shall reduce, leading to better environment sustainability. Second, by learning at home, students’ mental health can be improved. The reason is that online learning allows them not to encounter school politics, peer pressure and even bullying, which are the leading causes for mental issues among schoolers.

On the other hand, it can also be true that telecommuting can be fraught with many pitfalls, From the workers’ perspective, people working from home are proved to perform less productively than those who work in offices as remote employees constantly exposed to many distractions and interruptions at home. In fact, women especially those with infants have to usually feed their babies and take care of house chores, making it impossible to concentrate on work. From the educational perspective, online learning means teachers could not physically interact with students to keep tracks of their learning processes and properly assess how they comprehend the school content, thereby impacting terribly students’ academic achievements in the long terms.

In conclusion, working and learning from home equally could have both desirable and detrimental impacts on employees and learners equally.